Monday, 10 January 2011

Meet the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011

Your votes are in. The professionals have had their say. And now, 101 people from more than 30 countries around the world are heading to Sydney Opera House to perform together in March as the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011.

These final 101 outstanding musicians — who range in age from 14 to 49, and hail from five different continents — have emerged from the 336 finalists selected last month by partner orchestras worldwide (including London Symphony Orchestra, Berliner Philharmoniker and Sydney Symphony). Your votes on those finalists then helped artistic advisor Michael Tilson Thomas and composer Mason Bates settle on the final line-up.

Among the final group is a vuvuzela-fixated trombonist from Germany, an Arizona-based clarinetist who has never left the U.S., and a Guzheng player from China whose instrument is one a lot of the world has never seen, or heard before. They’ll come together from March 14 to prepare for a final performance on Sunday, March 20, which will be streamed live to the world on YouTube.

We want to open up every stage of the orchestra process. We called for auditions from around the world on YouTube and we were blown away by the amazing videos we received in response, the YouTube community voted on their favourites and visited the channel in their millions, and now we’re inviting you to join the winning musicians as they begin their creative journey to Sydney. We’ll post their videos and behind-the-scenes footage of the orchestra, from rehearsal and master classes to performance, to the YouTube Symphony channel, and to our mobile apps (which you can download on the Android Market by searching for 'YouTube Symphony Orchestra' or Apple App Store) and in March we’ll start broadcasting from Sydney, so tune in!

Next stop: Sydney.

Jamie Dolling, Marketing Manager, recently watched “Synergy: Unsung Heroes”.


Little said...

Um, YouTube, why have you removed the inbox from the right of the homepage?

That is such a stupid thing to now I have to click through loads of dropdown boxes just to see the inbox. No thanks. Your new site design is terrible and now you're taking away the inbox? Do you even understand what 'simple' means? You hide it well.

Ollie said...

This is great! can't wait to see it! :D

trinky said...


abbott.simth said...

Discussed about the orchestra 2011 on the you tube so that can be used and know that all the information on the you tube.

tub chair

Post a Comment